PHLPOST Increase their Rates

Manila Central Post Office , Liwasang Bonifacio , Ermita , Manila-Philippines

Philippine Postal Corporation or PHLPOST announced that they will increase mailing rates for local and even international mail and parcels. This will be effective tomorrow July 15, 2014.

First Class letter will cost Php 10.00  while inter-land rates for provinces will be at Php 12.00 for the minimum weight of 20 grams.

The last time PHLPOST increase their rates was in 2010.


Being a stamp , letter and postcard collector, We support the idea of the increase , However the increase must equate to a better service , proper distribution of commemorative stamps in major post offices in the country .

I lived in Novaliches and worked in West Fairview area, ordinary mails from other parts of Metro Manila would arrive between 1 week to 3 weeks! Not to mention they are all mailed within Metro Manila. We have some post offices in Novaliches Bayan, Quezon City Hall grounds and Novaliches – Gulod ( Forest Hills) , Novaliches -Caloocan City  . I need to travel more than 2 hours just to buy recent  stamp issuance from the main post office .

What i know is that there are still a lot of stamp collectors that are based in Novaliches , Fairview , Caloocan , Valenzuela area . A lot of them does not have a luxury of spending time traveling to the main post office in order just to buy recent issues.

How can you generate interest among the young collectors if the recent commemorative stamp issued is not not being properly distributed to major post office even in Metro Manila?

We would likewise remind people from PHLPOST to avoid issuing HIGH Value denomination stamps with so called 3-D effects mask as embossed printed from Thailand or China. They are nice but rather Expensive way to collect while ASEAN member countries like Thailand sell their embossed stamps at just a fraction of the cost.

Please listen to the majority of the stamp collectors and not a FEW ones which always lingers ( tambay ) and self-profess stamp expert!

Website :




Germany Won its Fourth World Cup Title !

Maracanã Stadium , RIO DE JANEIRO, Brazil

                           Photo By Frank Augstein AP

With two quick, deft touches, Mario Goetze ended Germany’s 24-year wait for another World Cup title — and denied Messi the one title he needs to forever take his place among the game’s all-time greats.

Goetze scored the winning goal in extra time to give Germany a 1-0 victory over Argentina on Sunday in a tight and tense World Cup final that was decided by one moment of brilliance.

It is Germany’s first World Cup title as a unified nation, having won as West Germany in 1954, 1974 and 1990.

Maracanã stadium

The Germans faced Argentina in both the 1986 and 1990 finals, during  Diego Maradona’s heyday.

Goetze, who wasn’t born when West Germany beat Argentina in the 1990 final, controlled a cross with his chest in the 113th minute and in one fluid motion volleyed the ball past goalkeeper Sergio Romero and inside the far post from five yards out.

It was a goal that gave Germany its fourth World Cup title, equal second with Italy on the list of all-time champions and just behind Brazil’s five.

“It’s an unbelievable feeling. I don’t know how to describe it. You just shoot that goal in, you don’t really know what’s happening,” Goetze said. “And then at the end of the match, having a party with the team, the whole country … it is for us, a dream come true.”

getty image

At the final whistle, Germany players fell into a pile in the middle of the pitch in celebration. Messi walked past them with his hands on his hips — still in the shadow of his compatriot Diego Maradona, who led his country to the 1986 title.

Goetze went on as a substitute for Miroslav Klose toward the end of regulation time and his fresh legs made the difference.

Andre Schuerrle broke down the left flank, sending his cross into the area, and the Bayern Munich midfielder did the rest with a clinical finish. The goal echoed that of Andres Iniesta four years ago, when the midfielder scored in similar fashion but from the other side of the area to give Spain a 1-0 extra-time win over the Netherlands.

According to Germany coach Joachim Loew, it was exactly as he’d planned when he made the substitution.

“I said to Mario Goetze, ‘OK, show to the world that you’re better than Messi and you can decide the World Cup. You have all the possibilities to do that,'” Loew said. “I had a good feeling with him.”

Germany became the first European team to win a World Cup in the Americas, and the victory ends a string of near misses since winning its last major title at the 1996 European Championship. The team lost the 2002 World Cup final to Brazil, the Euro 2008 final to Spain and was eliminated in the semifinals in both 2006 and 2010.

Germany had entered the game as the favorite after its 7-1 semifinal drubbing of Brazil. But Argentina proved to be an entirely different proposition.


Germany: Manuel Neuer; Philipp Lahm, Mats Hummels, Jerome Boateng, Benedikt Hoewedes; Christoph Kramer (Andre Schuerrle, 31), Bastian Schweinsteiger, Toni Kroos, Mesut Ozil (Per Mertesacker, 120), Thomas Mueller; Miroslav Klose (Mario Goetze, 88).

Argentina: Sergio Romero; Pablo Zabaleta, Martin Demichelis, Ezequiel Garay, Marcos Rojo; Lucas Biglia, Javier Mascherano, Enzo Perez (Fernando Gago, 86); Ezequiel Lavezzi (Sergio Aguero, 46), Gonzalo Higuain (Rodrigo Palacio, 78), Lionel Messi.


%d bloggers like this: