Philippine Philatelic Club holds meeting and auction

Central Post Office lobby, Liwasang Bonifacio, Ermita- Manila, Philippines


The Philippine Philatelic Club was resurrected by its members and new board of directors.  It is an non-governmental organization , non-stock and non- political organization  which mainly focuses on the promotion of stamp, coin and ephemera  collecting  among its members .  The club was founded in 1937 which celebrates  its 77th year in 2014.

items to be auction-off

The club auction listing was patterned after BNSP and PNAS style with a lot of congratulatory greetings and advertisement .

Mr. Fernando ” Boy” Francisco conducting an auction

Some older philatelists and collectors would recall that the club used to attract hundreds or even thousand of collectors during their heydays . It also used to rival the Asocacion  Filatelica de Filipinas  founded in 1925 .

Philippine Republic Stamp:



map of Manila

Some philatelists say that the club conduct some meetings up to the mid 1989 and early 1990’s . But by the time i joined some stamp clubs in 1994, PPC is almost unheard off.

Philippine Philatelic Club auction listings

There were 688 items that was auction-off during the inaugural meeting  The club finally held their meeting / auction after more than 20- years  of complete dormancy.

I have invited a couple of stamp collectors and blogger in order to give some support the the club.

 The auction started a bit late ( past 2:00pm)  and there were some items that were not properly labeled.  Generally, the meeting went smoothly , but there is still a big room to fill !

The expectation is high since it is considered as one of the oldest -known stamp clubs in the country. We hope that the so-call revival by its current board of directors will not be ONE TIME BIG TIME event .

Note: I bought some items during the event , hopefully the club will be able to conduct regular monthly meeting in order to promote philately and collecting!

Philippine Philatelic Club

Board Members 2014- 2015

President : Mr. Fernando ” Boy ” Francisco Jr.

Vice President : Mr. Winthrop ” Willie ” Espanol

Secretary : Mr. Thomas ” Temboi ” De Guzman Jr.

Treasurer : Mr. Rogelio ” Roger ” Quistol

P.R.O : Datu Alex Panomblayan

Adviser : Mr. Peter Sy and Atty. Jose M. Escano

Honorary Members: Hon. Feliciano Belmonte Jr.



%d bloggers like this: